計劃概念

— 召集人鄧凝姿

藝術貨櫃計劃是一個由本土出發的藝術創作計劃。主辦機構純粹獨立藝術家群是一個自資的純藝術團體,而參與創作的藝術家,還有協辦機構、其他合作伙伴和贊助人,都是在本土成長的專業人才。這個計劃,可說是香港藝術界和熱心藝術人士一次攜手共創的旅程。

計劃的概念,以具有聯繫意義的貨櫃航運業作為起點。貨櫃是一件功能性物件,現代世界的人,很少會不認識貨櫃。我們邀請了38位香港藝術家在這些貨櫃上親筆繪畫作品,希望藝術創作藉此走出傳統的展示空間,能夠與生活、社區、大眾有更多的接觸;由我們的市民開始,為本地藝術畫出一個更大的欣賞領域。計劃的另一重意義,來自貨櫃的流動性質,當藝術貨櫃載着各式各樣的物品,按照目標駛向世界不同的角落,它們就變成了藝術大使,把本地的藝術創作,還有這次創作以“保護地球”為主題的訊息,傳送到其他地方。

在西九的場地展出後,藝術貨櫃便會開始名為“美麗旅程.美麗世界”第一段長達三年的旅程。在這旅程中,我們會不斷追蹤、尋找散落在世界各個角落的藝術貨櫃,看看它們在旅程中的各種境況和遭遇;旅程完畢後,藝術貨櫃會回到我們這個城市,報告它們的經歷。

在藝術貨櫃計劃中,藝術團體和藝術家有機會跟本地的商業機構合作,加上政府的全力支持,成就了這個完全屬於香港的藝術活動。我們希望這是一個起步點,讓本地藝術得到大家的和應、認同、支持和推動,而香港的藝術發展亦如藝術貨櫃展示的流動風景一樣精彩、多元。

2008


Art Container - Hong Kong

Project Statement

— By TANG Ying-chi, Project Convener

The Art Container Project is an art project originated in Hong Kong. MIA (Mere Independent Artists), the organiser, is a self-financed non-profit making art organisation. The participating artists, co-organiser, official partners and sponsors are also professionals brought up here in our city. This project can be considered a joint venture made by the local art circle and art lovers.

The concept of the project starts with the container and freight industry, which has an implication of connection. A container is a functional object well known to the modern world. 38 Hong Kong artists have been invited to paint their works on the containers. In such a way, works of art can step out of traditional exhibition space and come closer to daily lives, the community and the public. We would like to create a bigger space of art appreciation, starting from our local audience. Another layer of meaning of the project comes from the mobility of the containers. The containers, while loaded with the goods they are to carry, will also carry around the artworks created by our artists and the message of protecting the Earth, a major theme of the art making for the containers. By going to different places of the world as scheduled, the containers will serve as art ambassadors.

After the departure exhibition at West Kowloon Cultural District, the art containers will start the first three-year journey under the name of “Beautiful Journey.Beautiful World”. During the journey, we will keep tracking and locating the art containers arriving at different places, finding out what has happened to them in their trips. When the journey is completed, the art containers will come back to our city and report to us what they have experienced.

The Art Container Project has provided an opportunity for collaboration between local art organisations, artists and commercial institutions. Their joint efforts, coupled with the full support of the Government, have brought about this art event which is completely made in Hong Kong. We hope that it would serve as a starting point for local art to attract more response, recognition, support and promotion. We also hope that the art development in our city would be as exciting and prolific as the mobile landscape on the art containers.

2008