首航旅程 2008 :
美麗旅程 · 美麗世界

啟航展覽策展概念

First Stage

– 策展人方詠甄

“美麗旅程 · 美麗世界”這個名字,有別於一般展題,早在展覽還是在構思階段時,已由工作小組選定了。起初,我們對怎樣才是一個“美麗世界”,又或怎樣才是一段“美麗旅程”,並沒有既定的想法。那時,這個展題對我們沒有特別的意思,只是籌劃時所需的一件工具而已。

不久,我開始問自己:甚麼會令一段旅程變得美麗?“美麗世界”又在哪兒?今天,我們離一個美麗世界有多遠?再具體一點,這個在香港前所未有的藝術計劃,跟其他國際貨櫃藝術展有甚麼不同?這個展覽跟西九龍文化區的展場有何關係?它如何在展場中把自己凸顯出來?

隨着藝術貨櫃計劃的籌備工作逐步開展,“美麗旅程 · 美麗世界”這命題對每個人也日漸變得重要,叫人無法抗拒地要使用它。“美麗旅程.美麗世界”不是一個我們要證明的主張,也不是一條早已把每一步和目的地計劃妥當的路途。它是一個起點,並帶領我們走向無盡的可能──讓我們自己或邀請其他人為這個題目作更多個人詮釋,賦予它更多意義。

這次展出的新作,來自38位不同創作媒介的本地藝術家。展覽希望能提出假設,多於提供一種意識形態。藝術貨櫃展可以看成是把本地藝術出口到海外的隱喻,就像西九計劃引起了國際藝術和文化交流的議題一樣,當中兩者的類同之處,也許不是偶然的。況且,它帶來了一個更深遠的問題:藝術,何去何從?

“美麗旅程 · 美麗世界”展覽的作品會以五個主題區域展示:

一、 城市幻想曲
在現代都市生活,急速城市節奏留下的經驗印記,成了藝術家的靈感之源。這個組別的八位藝術家對此編造了他們自己的回應,在作品中不停地遊走於意識形態、歷史、他們所在的空間,又或是他們背後的空間。

程展緯用了一家老舖作為比喻,去回答我們從跨境貨運日增可以得見的全球化問題。貨櫃是密封空間,卻讓人有無邊想像;陳惠蓮在作品中描繪了傳統的摺疊式鐵閘──一個在香港被都市建築完全佔有時迅速消逝的景色,鐵閘與貨櫃是異曲同工。馬琼珠重新繪畫她跟朋友在“facebook”(一個讓人與朋友在網絡上聯繫的社交網站)上創造的人物,作品揭示了當代溝通的神秘過程,帶領我們去想像一個由廣大而且可以延伸的網絡所連繫的世界。

二、 無地圖之旅
貨櫃是命中註定要在旅途上過一種游牧生活,並在三年後回歸香港。旅程的路線是看不見的,但可以辨認出來──我們永遠不能把這無法預計的旅程,固定在地圖上。甘志強把貨櫃看成候鳥,不靠地圖就可以飛越漫長旅程,也可以辨認回家之路。楊宇靈把顏料潑濺在貨櫃上,創作的過程就如人生的縮影──沒有人知道將要發生的事情。盧玉燕在名為《城市地圖》的作品中,把旅程路線化成迷宮,象徵這段由香港出發的貨櫃旅程的未知和神秘特質。

三、 我家是你家
這主題借用了一個展覽的名字“我家是你家,你家即我家”(東京歌劇城藝術畫廊,2001年)。貨櫃彷彿是一個流動和臨時的“家”的化身。這些作品一方面把“家”不斷轉變的意義,與地理、文化和身份連接起來,另一方面則表達了縱使“家”不再穩定,人仍舊追尋共存與和諧的渴望。

何兆基探討“自我/他者”概念中恒常轉變又互相重疊的身份,以意義和信念如何創造為焦點,顯示自我和他者之間的界限。林嵐用香港的榕樹根,就全球化年代人的身份轉化提出疑問。同樣地,林玉蓮在貨櫃上,以中國內地宣傳標語的方式寫上“文明”一詞,探尋這個詞在香港處境中帶給人們的不同體驗。或許,問題可以用另一個方式提出:“根,是否早與它的路徑相連?”

四、 天際無界限
藝術家選用了天空的影像,來探索他們的作品那不確定的未來。梁美萍展示了貨櫃的命運有如雲朵:貨櫃所裝載的貨物會像白天的雲一樣,總有一天會被蒸發。對藝術家來說,除了未知的將來,所有事物都是不確定的。尹麗娟以香港白晝和夜間天空的顏色來描畫她的貨櫃,希望貨櫃在不同的天空下破浪遠航時,能與天空合而為一。鄭志明描繪香港的天際線,並提出一個富爭議性的問題:是甚麼把城市分隔開來?是人類,而不是海洋、陸地或天空嗎?譚偉平相信我們活於一個自我構造的系統中,靠着不知名的力量或群體生活,把我們領向一個模糊、難於理解,而且在我們掌控之外的未來。

五、 希望的風景
保護環境是這個組別七位藝術家所關心的議題。雖然我們已確認了環境問題的惡化速度,遠高於最初所想,但尋求一個更美好世界的希望,還是有的。劉掬色的《在綠社會》,指出“綠色”是全靠“我們”的。問題不只是種植多些樹木,而是要一起行動,讓我們的核心價值走往新方向。我們今天目睹的,是剝削性經濟和社會模式所結出的爛透果實。在這超級消費的年代,馮淑霞透過大自然的形貌、高度、顏色,重拾已遺忘的風景,希望藉此珍惜地球最自然的美態。鄧凝梅的《史前時代的夢境》,以神話方式去述說希望這個題旨。守護動物環繞地球飛行,保護這片土地,最後被遠古的人類擒獲,在地球上消失。

在眾多作品中,我看見一些共通的主題,但對於以主題概括作品的做法,我一向抱着懷疑態度。如藝評人Dave Hickey所說:“你從一組作品中看到三個共通點的當兒,你就找到了那些作品三個最不吸引人的地方。”在這次策展工作中,我告訴自己,在所屬主題以外,每一件作品其實都盛滿心思慎密的訊息,回應了很多個人和社會關注的問題。它們一起組成了這個展覽的基礎,並增強了這一份信念:藝術作品不是靜止的,它們會不斷改變、演化、成長。按主題分組只是為觀者提供一個容易閱讀作品背後意念的門階,而不是為作品畫定不可跨越的疆界。有好些作品,可在一個或多個不同組別中展示。我希望這些作品的詮釋可以得到延伸,並容許它們提出更多主題。只有這樣,意義和對話才會不斷衍生,令整個展覽豐富起來。

“美麗旅程 · 美麗世界”就像海市蜃樓──展覽只存在於一息間,揭示了一幅無法預計的風景圖畫,然後悄然消失,不留痕迹。展覽開幕標誌着藝術貨櫃將要啟航,航向未知的明天。因此,展覽是我們所有人的一次旅程,但它也是另一段奇妙旅程的開端。

方詠甄 任職香港文化博物館助理館長,曾策劃不少展覽,包括2006年名為MEGartSTORE的展覽。方詠甄畢業於香港中文大學藝術系,後加入香港文化博物館工作,期間修畢澳洲悉尼大學博物館學文憑課程。她在2004年獲英國皇家藝術學院頒授當代藝術策展學碩士學位,畢業後曾參與英國利物浦雙年展的籌備工作,後回港續事於文化博物館,並於香港藝術學院兼任導師。2007年獲亞洲文化協會獎助金,赴美國考察當地的策展工作,交流經驗。

返回頁頂


Art Container - Hong Kong

First Journey 2008:
Beautiful Journey · Beautiful World

Curatorial Statement

First Stage

– By Stella FONG, Curator

Unlike other exhibitions, the title of “Beautiful Journey.Beautiful World” was picked by the working team as early as when the exhibition was just an idea. We had no preconception of what a “beautiful world” or a “beautiful journey” was. At that time, the title did not mean anything to us, but an operational and working tool.

Soon, I found myself asking, what makes a journey beautiful? Where is the “beautiful world”? How far are we from a beautiful world today? More specifically, I also asked myself, how is this unprecedented project in Hong Kong different from other international art container exhibitions? How would this exhibition relate to and distinguish itself from its site in West Kowloon Cultural District (WKCD)?

Displaying new works by 38 emerging and established local artists from various media, the exhibition is far more hypothetical than ideological. Perhaps it is no coincidence that this container exhibition is also a metaphor for the export of local art globally, raising similar issues around global artistic and cultural exchange as the WKCD mission itself does. It also brought attention to a further question, where can art go?

“Beautiful Journey.Beautiful World” is presented thematically in five sections:

1. Tales of urban fantasy
Traces of explosive urban experience in modern city life have become a source of inspiration for artists. Eight artists in this section give their own twist in response, playing with ideologies, histories, and spaces in and against which they live.

Luke Ching uses an old store as a metaphor to address issues of globalisation evident in the increasing trans-border traveling of goods. Analogous with the container that allows infinite imagination beyond its own sealed “containment”, Denise Chen’s work depicts the traditional folding metal gates, a typical scenery in Hong Kong disappearing rapidly under the imperative of total urban construction. Ivy Ma re-paints the characters she created with her friend in “facebook” (a social networking website that connects people with friends). The work reveals the mystifying processes of communication that lead us to imagining a place interconnected by an extensive and expansive network in all directions.

2. Journey without maps
Living a nomadic life, the container is destined to be on the move and return to Hong Kong after a journey of three years. The route is invisible yet recognisable – an unpredictable journey that can never be tamed by maps. Kum Chi-keung metaphorises the container to a migratory bird, which flies away and returns without having to rely on a map. Yolanda Yeung splashes colour pigments onto the surface of the container. The painting process resembles an epitome of life – no one knows what will happen next. In Lucille Lo’s work entitled Road Map, the artist indicates the routes of the journey in the form of a maze, and suggests the unknown and mystery of the container journey that begins in Hong Kong.

3. My home is yours
This title was borrowed from the exhibition “My home is yours, your home is mine” (Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, 2001). The container is a perfect embodiment of a mobile and temporary “home”. The works in this section articulate on the one hand, the constantly shifting meanings of “home” to geography, culture and identity, while on the other hand, the aspiration to search for co-existence and harmony despite the instability of “home”.

Ho Siu-kee questions the ever-changing and overlapping identities in the concept of “Self/Others”. By focusing on how meanings and beliefs are created, the boundaries that lie between the Self and Others are revealed. Jaffa Lam uses the root of a banyan tree in Hong Kong to question the transformation of one’s identity in the age of globalisation. In a similar way, Pauline Lam applies the word “civilisation” to the container in Mainland China propaganda style, exploring the different experience the word offers in the context of Hong Kong. Perhaps a different way of posing the question in this section is, “Isn’t the root already connected to its routes?”

4. Sky is not the limit
Artists adopt images of the sky and examine the uncertain future of their works. Leung Mee-ping reveals the fate of the container that is similar to the nature of the cloud: the goods inside the container will be vaporised like the cloud at the end. For the artist, everything is uncertain except the certainty of an unknown future. Wan Lai-kuen paints the container with the colors of the day and night sky of Hong Kong, in the hope that it will eventually merge with and disappear into the different skies under which it sails and flies. Carl Cheng depicts the skyline of Hong Kong and provocatively asks whether it is the people rather than the ocean, the land, or the sky that keeps the cities apart. Lukas Tam believes that we live in a self-constructed system where unknown forces or collective lives bring us into an obscure and unperceivable future beyond our control.

5. The landscape of hope
Environmental protection is a core concern of the seven artists in this section. While it is finally recognised that environmental deterioration goes much faster than first believed, there is hope for a better world, at least. Lau Gukzik’s work A Society Thinking Green brings out the issue of “green” that depends on all of “us”. It is not just a matter of planting more trees, but seeing our core values embarking on a new direction that requires action. What we are witnessing today is the rotten fruits of exploitative economic and social models. In this era of super consumption, Yvette Fung recalls the forgotten landscape manifested in nature’s form, heights and colours, hoping to cherish the most natural beauty of the planet. Grace Tang’s Dreamscape of Prehistoric Time takes up the issue of hope in a more mythical way. Guardian animals protect the Earth by flying around the globe, but are captured by a pre-historic man. They finally disappear on Earth.

Among the works, I see common themes emerge, although I am often skeptical of the idea of theme in general. To quote from the art critic Dave Hickey, “As soon as you have identified the three things a group of works have in common, you have just identified the three least interesting things about those works.” I propose to myself that this time, in addition to and against the themes are individual artworks imbued with elaborate messages that address a variety of personal and social concerns. Together they form the basis of this exhibition. They strengthen my belief that artworks are not static things but are always changing, evolving and growing. The groupings are meant to offer an entrée to the ideas behind the works, and are not intended as discrete and separate territories. Many works that are presented in one category could justifiably appear in another. My hope is to stretch the reading of the works and to allow the works themselves to suggest the multiple themes. It is only then that meanings and dialogues could arise to enrich the whole exhibition.

“Beautiful Journey.Beautiful World” is like a mirage—the exhibition exists for a moment to reveal an unpredictable landscape, and is to disappear without leaving a physical trace. The opening of the exhibition marks the departure of the art containers to what lies beyond. It is therefore apt to add, while the exhibition itself has been a journey for all of us, it is also the fresh beginning of yet another.

Stella FONG is Assistant Curator of Contemporary Art at the Hong Kong Heritage Museum. She was one of the creative minds behind the innovative exhibition MEGartSTORE presented in 2006, among other exhibitions she had curated for the museum. FONG joined the Heritage Museum after graduating from the Department of Fine Arts of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and went on to complete a graduate diploma in museum studies at the University of Sydney. In 2004, she was awarded an M.A. degree in curating contemporary art by the Royal College of Art in London. She also took part in the organisation of Liverpool Biennale during her stay in the United Kingdom after graduation. She then resumed her work in the Heritage Museum and taught in the Hong Kong Art School on part-time basis. In 2007, FONG was awarded the Asian Cultural Council Fellowship to conduct research on curatorial practices in the United States.

back to top