檔案館 2009

香港藝術發展獎 2008

藝術貨櫃計劃的藝術大使計劃 — 迷你藝術貨櫃獲得了二零零八年的香港藝術發展局藝術教育銅獎。在四月二十一號頒獎典禮當晚,節目统籌,鄧凝梅、兩位正副主席,鄧凝姿及李美娟,藝術大使成員黄永棠,林磊光, 余琦琦,楊美青和我們的好友葉若曦先生全部出席慶祝。



藝術貨櫃計劃一周年!
到訪海事訓練學院
藝術家分享會:黃良敏(新加坡)及李美娟(香港)

黃良敏畢業於新加坡LaSalle學院,他的作品關注社會上的性別條件。他從來沒有符合社會對性別問題上的要求而表現出應有的態度,他的藝術通過編織活動聯繫與其他女性並共同創作。

在女性主義的影響下,他在表演藝術和裝置藝術中加入了手作元素,他的工作是對matrilineage藝術遺產和藝術家表示敬意。

李美娟對利用紙和光來捕捉及記錄時間很感興趣,從太陽光的幫助下她收集了時間和記憶。她會將某些帶有親密感覺的物件放在陽光下,經過一定的時間,該物體會殘留其形狀於紙上,而藝術作品的生命就由日光一刻開始。對她來說,時間和日光重建和喚起兩者之間的關係和物件轉變的過程。

關於性別的想法已經討論過。女性的外觀是首次提出,在香港,中國,新加坡,台灣和西方的女性都有所不同。我們都認為,在香港的女性是非常堅強,她們都會使用化妝品但並不是太女性化,相比起台灣或其他西方國家的女性,她們對化妝及女性化的表現更明顯。

我們來到了一個被媒體廣泛強調所謂的女性形象時代。女性可能不像媒體所描繪般,女性可以是非常堅強和不女性化,但她仍然是一個女性,男性可能會非常溫柔,而不帶侵略性,但他仍然是一個男性。

討論會上提及到藝術家使用了日光作工具,在紙上創作。時間打印在物件上已在藝術世界中取得了一些印象。李美娟所記錄的物件是跟她有密切的關係,該物件可能是在家中發現的。這些由時間所繪畫出的作品都告訴了關於她和她在生活上作為一個女兒,妻子和母親的故事。她的作品就像日記,記錄她生活的每一個部分,無論大小。

 

返回頁頂


Art Container - Hong Kong

Archives 2009

Hong Kong Arts Development Award 2008

The mini art container – art ambassador scheme of the Art Container Project has received an education bronze award 2008 from the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. The programme coordinator, Grace Tang, the Chairladies, Stella Tang and Carol Lee, the art ambassadors, Wong Wing Tong, Roy Lam, Yu Kei Kei, Circle Yang and our friend Mr. Heyse Ip were all there celebrating at the presentation ceremony in 21st April 2009.



Art Container Project 1st anniversary!
Visiting MSTI
Artists Sharing: Arthur Wong (Singapore) & Carol Lee Mei Kuen (Hong Kong)

On April the 9th 2009, at Arthome in Wanchai, an artists’ sharing had taken place where Singaporean performing artist, Arthur Wong and MIA artist, Carol Lee Mei Kuen were invited to present their works and held a discussion about their art works.

The sharing began with Arthur Wong, a graduate from La Salle College in Singapore, talked about his art in detail. His works pay concerns on gender conditioning in our society. He has never been conformed by the society about how one gender should behave and he has started his art through knitting – a domestic activity linked mostly with female.

Under the influence of feminism, he has started performance art and installation art, and incorporated crafts into his art practice. His work also pays homage to the matrilineage heritage of art and artists.

Carol Lee Mei Kuen is interested in catching, recording time by paper and sun/light. She has collected time and memory by the help of light from the Sun. She will use objects that are intimate to her, place them under the Sun, after a certain time, the objects will leave their forms on the paper. The life of the art work was started in that particular moment by the Sun. For her, time and sunlight reconstruct and evoke relationships of both people and objects through this process.

The idea about gender has been discussed. The appearance of female is first raised and there are differences of female in Hong Kong, China, Singapore, Taiwan and the West. We all feel that female in Hong Kong is very strong and there are not many who will use make up and are not very feminine, while female in Taiwan and the West attend to the make up and feminine outlook.

Then we have come to a generalization about how female image was imposed by the media. A female might not look like the way the media has presented to the public. A female can be very strong and un feminine, but she is still a female, a male might be very gentle and not aggressive but he is still a male.

The discussion also hit on the artists who had used sunlight as instrument in art and the stability of sunlight on paper. Time print on body was done before and it had made some impression in the art world. Then move onto the objects that Carol has chosen to record the sun and time. The objects she first started to use were intimate to her, they might be found in her home. These time paintings tell stories about her and her life as a daughter, a wife and a mother. They are like diaries that record every part, whether big or small, of her life.

 

back to top